Spoiled Horse?
Quote · 1880 days ago · 0 people like this ·

Hello, I am a new horse owner and I need some advice please.  My horse is gentle and kind but I believe has been spoiled as she tends to crowd me.  She does not respect my personal space and always tries to grab a mouthful of grass when I'm leading her to the round pen. 

How do I establish leadership and gain her respect?  She is six years old and green broke. What training she has had has been English and I want to ride Western.  What are some methods used by forum users that have worked for you?  Of the various trainers out there with 'How To' videos, who would you recommend and why?  I started taking riding lessons but I am thinking I need to go back and concentrate on basics starting with ground manners.  Anyone have any advice?

Quote · 1852 days ago · 0 people like this ·

I'm a trainer here in Texas and the first thing i would advise you to do is send her to a trainer since you have stated that you are a new horse owner. How ever if you want to do it your self i have a few tips to try. First you are right about going back to the basices. Get her to the round pen and start from scratch. This will not only help your horse but also you. I would start by asablishing direction. Start your horse going in one direction and make sure she continues in only that direction. Once you asablish that have her switch by turning in toward you. If she fails to turn inward countine in the first direction til she does. Now if you can do all this at a walk perfect if not i encourge you to make sure the amount of pressure you put on her via lung whip or rope like i use is light. Always start slow and work up to fast. This will help astablish whos the boss of the herd. Once you have her switching sides perfectly you can start hooking her on to you and sending her away and around. I will let you know that if your horse is not responding after an hour of going threw direction changes you might want to consider a trainer. B